Novecento Holiday Party

DSCN7319

Hey, world.  It’s been crazy busy and Vic and I don’t get to see each other often since we’re both working and separated physically!  Therefore, regardless of how insanely late this is, we wanted to share our experience at Novecento.  An Argentinian restaurant/bar.  Pinky is interning and the company had a office holiday dinner party there.  Here were the menus for that night! {Apologies for the blurry photos, it was super dark!}

Novecento Appetizers | Novecento Cocktail Reception
Novecento Menu Dinner

DSCN7338
Lomo – grilled beef tenderloin, Malbec demi-glace, mashed potatoes, arugula and radicchio

Pinky says

DSCN7327I thought this place was so adorable.  It was so charming and the lighting really helped the ambiance.  Felt like we were in a old classic movie with the bar right smack in the middle of the room.  Since our party was such a huge group, we were upstairs and it was a delightful experience.  The tables were a bit cramped though and it was hard to navigate from the stairs to around the room.  The food was pretty delicious.  The staff were attentive and very patient with us.

Careful of those stools they have though, it was so heavy to move around that I got a huge bruise on my pinkie finger because it landed between those two seats.  Ouch.  Good thing the open bar helped a bit with the pain.  Haha!  What else made this night memorable was that I found my new favorite drink.  Mojito! I am not that much of a drinker, being that I became a legal drinker still pretty recently.  I also tried one glass of Malbec.  Interesting!

The caprese skewers, (mozzarella, tomato, basil) were my favorite.. I really enjoyed how they were bringing the appetizers around while we can still stand around and chat.  It was a bit weird to hold the spoons and skewers after we quickly ate them though.  As usual, me being socially awkward… haha!  Risotto was especially memorable, however it was a bit on the heavy side.

Dessert was interestingly served as a “family style”.  I didn’t know and I thought the whole plate of sweets was for just me and Victor… mwhahaa. The want to eat everything.

Will have to come back to try the real restaurant part of the menu ;D.

Victor says

DSCN7323

This dainty restaurant is named Novecento… which means 900 in Italian… but it’s located on 343 W Broadway. Rather confusing, because I was searching for 900 W Broadway.

The decor in this place gives it an old school western look. I find it quite beautiful, however, it was a little dark in there though. Aside from the decor, the staff was wonderful and attentive. During the cocktail hour, they just kept bringing out fresh Hors d’oeuvres.  Sadly, I can’t remember all of them. Maybe I had one too many drinks that night.

I can somewhat remember the appetizers and entrees. For the appetizers, we had like these beef/ chicken/ veggie-filled empanadas and they were so good. Crisp and filled, I remember just taking one at a time and just stuffing myself. It was plateful of like 20 empanadas. I’m pretty sure I ate like half of them.

For the entree, I got the filet mignon and Pinky got the 4 cheese risotto. It was so juicy and tender. I don’t know why, I remember it being a little burnt on the side, but Pinky disagrees. Maybe it’s just my bad memory. The steak still tasted wonderful. It also came with a side of mashed potatoes and asparagus.

We got a whole plateful of assorted desserts. I was too full to really any of it… so we passed our plate next to the people next to us.

I guess the rightful thing is to comeback in the future and give you guys our final consensus. We did not come here with the intention of rating it. So far, they did a good job. Lets hope it stays that way during our next visit!

IMG_7520
pc: Korey Lee
IMG_7593
pc: Korey Lee

Leave a Reply

